New sanctions on Qatar as Arab diplomatic crisis worsens

After Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates announced that they would be severing diplomatic ties with Qatar, the sanctions on the terrorist-supporting country have already been implemented. Among the restrictions are ceasing sugar exports to Qatar and closing their air spaces to Qatari aircraft.
Sanctions begin on Qatar Photo Credit: Reuters/Channel 2 News

Several hours after today’s (Monday) JOL report regarding Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates’ (UAE) declaration to sever diplomatic ties with Qatar, the countries are already implementing sanctions. The Egyptian Civil Aviation Authority announced that it would cease all aviation ties with Qatar beginning tomorrow. Furthermore, Egypt’s air space will be closed to all flights from Qatar. “The authority published the decision to cancel all of the flights between Egypt and Qatar and to close its air space to Qatari aircraft for transit or landing,” the Egyptian Civil Aviation Authority stated.

Shortly afterwards, Saudi Arabia and the UAE announced that they would terminate sugar exports to Qatar, who is dependent on the two countries for sugar, importing an estimated 100,000 tons per year. The sanction comes at an especially difficult time, as the month of Ramadan begins. In addition, Saudi Arabia decided to close the Al-Jazeera offices in Qatar.

Earlier today, the UAE’s Etihad Airways announced the immediate grounding of all flights to and from Doha until further notice. Since the four countries’ decision to sever ties with Qatar, global gas prices have increased along with tensions in the region responsible for a majority of the world’s gas.

Click Here for more reports by Judith Abramson

Found mistakes in this report? - Click Here

JerusalemOnline News Feed