Less than 24 hours left: The U.S. elections timetable

Less than 24 hours before the elections, both presidential nominees are battling for every vote in swing states, with Clinton currently enjoying a slight edge over her Republican rival. Here are all the details on when polling stations are expected to close across the U.S. and when sampling polls will start being published.
Hillary or Donald? A fateful day in the U.S. Photo Credit: Reuters / Channel 2 News

The closing of polling stations across the United States is the queue for American media outlets to start publishing their sample polls and try to estimate which of the candidates managed to win in every state. Here is the anticipated schedule until we discover who will be the next U.S. President.

At 1:00AM Israel Standard Time (19:00PM Eastern Standard Time), all eyes will be on Virginia (13 electoral votes), a swing state where a majority voted for Obama in 2008 and 2012 but which has leaned towards the Republicans in the past. Also at the focus of the attention will be Georgia (16 electoral votes), traditionally a Republican stronghold but less so in recent years. At the same time, polling stations will also be closing in Indiana (11), Kentucky (8), South Caroline (9) and Vermont (3).

Follow JerusalemOnline Twitter page and stay up to date with the latest news

Fighting till the last minute. Trump Photo Credit: Reuters / Channel 2 News

At 1:30AM Israel Standard Time (19:30PM Eastern Standard Time), polling stations will close in two other important states, North Carolina (15) and Ohio (18). According to many analysts, North Carolina most faithfully represents the American public’s tendencies and the results there could point to the trend in other states as well. Meanwhile, everyone in the U.S. is waiting to see the polls from Ohio, which has predicted the winner in every election campaign but one since World War II. Preliminary results are also expected to arrive at this time from West Virginia (5).

2:00AM Israel standard Time (20:00PM Eastern Standard Time) will mark the voting rush hour, with polling stations closing simultaneously in Florida (29), Pensylvania (20), New Hampshire (4), Maine (4), Maryland (10), Massachusetts (11), New Jersey (14), Mississippi (6), Missouri (10), Alabama (9), Tennessee (11), Oklahoma (7), Illinois (20), Rhode Island (4), Delaware (3), Connecticut (7) and the District of Columbia (3).

Still has a slight edge. Clinton Photo Credit: Reuters / Channel 2 News

At 2:30AM Israel Standard Time (20:30PM Eastern Standard Time), polling stations will close in Arkansas (6), a state where a majority voted for Bill Clinton in both the elections he ran in but which preferred Republican candidates in every election since.

At 3:00AM Israel Standard Time (21:00PM Eastern Standard Time), polling stations will close in New York (29), Colorado (9), Michigan (16), Texas (38), Kansas (6), Louisiana (8), North Dakota (3), South Dakota (3), Minnesota (10), Wyoming (3), Nebraska (5), Wisconsin (10) and New Mexico (5). If the race is still close at this point, most will be looking at the results in Colorado, which is considered a key state.


Watch The Main Newscast - Click Here

Click Here for more reports by Tom Dolev

Found mistakes in this report? - Click Here

comments powered by Disqus

JerusalemOnline News Feed