More than six countries to be included in upcoming Trump travel order

US President Donald Trump is expected to announce a more comprehensive travel order, which will replace the current travel ban. The new order will likely affect more countries than the six included in the current ban.
Trump Photo Credit: Reuters/Channel 2 News

US President Donald Trump is working on a new order that will replace the current travel ban, which will expire soon. According to the Wall Street Journal, this new order will affect more than the six countries included in the current ban. Senior Homeland Security, White House, State Department and Justice Department officials are expected to reveal more details about the new order before Sunday.  

According to the Wall Street Journal report, the order does not completely ban the citizens from all the countries on the list but rather places certain restrictions on specific countries. The restrictions vary by country in accordance with the country’s cooperation with the US government, the threat against America from the specific country and several other factors. “The Trump administration will ensure we only admit those who can be properly vetted and will not pose a threat to national security or public safety,” a White House official said when asked about the report.

The current travel ban prevents citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen from entering the US. It is still unclear which countries will be included in the new order but in a tweet earlier this month, Trump wrote: “The travel ban into the United States should be far larger, tougher and more specific-but stupidly, that would not be politically correct!”

Click Here for more reports by Becca Noy

Found mistakes in this report? - Click Here

JerusalemOnline News Feed