3 British scientists to be awarded Nobel Prize in Physics

Three British scientists were named this year’s winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics. The three conducted a research study together in the 1970s and 1980s.
Thouless, Haldane and Kosterlitz Photo Credit: Reuters/Channel 2 News

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences decided today (Tuesday) to award the Nobel Prize in Physics to three British scientists: 82-year-old David Thouless from the University of Washington, 65-year-old Duncan Haldane from Princeton University and 73-year-old Michael Kosterlitz from Brown University. According to the academy, the three were chosen for their “theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.”

In the official press release, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences stated: “They revealed the secrets of exotic matter. This year’s Laureates opened the door on an unknown world where matter can assume strange states.”

The three conducted their research study in the 1970s and 1980s. Later this week, the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize will be announced. Yesterday, JOL reported that Japanese scientist Yoshinori Ohsumi was announced as the winner of this year’s Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Click Here for more reports by Becca Noy

Found mistakes in this report? - Click Here

JerusalemOnline News Feed