Israeli Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister Tzipi Hotovely revealed on Monday evening that more than 10 countries may join Guatemala by deciding to move their respective embassies to Jerusalem. “Trump’s declaration will create a wave,” she added.


Jerusalem Photo Credit: Yonatan Sindel/Flash90

The Israeli Foreign Affairs Ministry is in talks with over 10 countries about moving their embassies to Jerusalem, which was recently recognized by the United States as Israel’s official capital. During an interview with Reshet Bet on Monday evening, Israeli Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister Tzipi Hotovely refused to name the countries but mentioned the Romanian parliament head’s recent statement calling on his country to consider the move.

“There are a lot more countries on the way,” she added. “I know this because the Foreign Affairs Ministry is now engaged in an important and significant central process with these states, some of which are in Europe.” Hotovely also stated that the countries are located in different parts of the world.

“Trump’s declaration will create a wave,” she continued. “We are now seeing the harbingers but there’s no doubt that there will be a very big wave here and it’s a diplomatic accomplishment for generations.”

President of Guatemala Jimmy Morales announced on Sunday that his country will move its embassy to Jerusalem. Guatemala was one of the nine countries that opposed the mainly symbolic vote last week. An overwhelming majority of 128 member-states voted in favor of the decision against Jerusalem’s recognition. Togo, Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, Honduras, Nauru and Palau were among the countries that joined Guatemala in rejecting the resolution.