Composer Lalo Schifrin (Blogspot Creative Commons)
Composer Lalo Schifrin (Blogspot Creative Commons)

The Hollywood Academy announced that Jewish composer Lalo Schifrin, well known for being the author of “Mission: Impossible”, will receive an honorary Oscar in recognition of his successful professional career.

Born in (1932) has left his mark as a composer on the soundtracks of such films as “The Cincinnati Kid” (1965), “Bullitt” (1968), “Dirty Harry” (1971). and the Mission Impossible Franchise.

Along with Schifrin, publicist Marvin Levy, who has worked for more than 40 years with filmmaker Steven Spielberg; and actress Cicely Tyson, whose films include “Sounder” (1972), “Fried Green Tomatoes” (1991) and “The Help” (2011) will also be honored with an honorary statuette.

These awards will be presented at the tenth edition of the Governors’ Awards on November 18th at the Ray Dolby Hall in downtown Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles, the same theatre where the Oscar gala is held every year.

This is a more discreet event, with no live broadcast, and with far fewer guests than the famous and spectacle Oscar ceremony.

Schifrin has received six Oscar nominations throughout his career, but he has never taken the Oscar home.

The Academy also revealed that Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall will jointly receive the Irving G. Thalberg Award, a recognition that honors film producers with an exceptional career.