After a number of lower courts ruled against US President Donald Trump’s travel ban, the Supreme Court decided to allow the order to go into full effect. Seven judges voted in favor of the ruling while two opposed it.


Protesters Photo Credit: Reuters/Channel 2 News

The US Supreme Court decided on Monday night to allow President Donald Trump’s latest travel ban to go into effect. The ban applies to the citizens of six predominately Muslim countries- Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen- even if they have connections to a person or organization in America.

In addition, the ban limits the entry of North Korean citizens and senior Venezuelan officials to the US. However, these restrictions had already been approved by lower courts and are already in effect.

Seven of the nine-member court voted to uphold the ban while two judges voted against the order. “We are pleased to have defended this order and heartened that a clear majority Supreme Court has allowed the President’s lawful proclamation protecting our country’s national security to go into full effect,” US Attorney General Jeff Sessions said in a written statement. “The Constitution gives the President the responsibility and power to protect this country from all threats foreign and domestic, and this order remains vital to accomplishing those goals.”

Trump has come under fire due to his three travel bans, with critics claiming that the orders are racist and target only Muslim travelers. The announcement of the Supreme Court ruling overrides the lower courts’ decisions to partially block the ban.