With 97% of the votes accounted for the 21st Knesset will be led by right-wing parties headed by Benjamin Netanyahu.

Netanyahu addressed his followers celebrated the victory at roughly 2am: “This is an unimaginable achievement,” Netanyahu told jubilant supporters at Likud Party headquarters in Tel Aviv in the early hours of Wednesday morning. “I am very moved tonight, a night of tremendous victory. I am very excited that the people of Israel once again trusted me for the fifth time and with greater confidence.”

“I believe that God and history gave the Jewish people another opportunity to turn their country into a strong nation, and that’s what I’m working for,” he said.

Israel is unlike the United States where the nominee who wins the general election automatically becomes the next head of state. In Israel regardless of which party receives more seats after the general election, it is up to the President to decide which man and party are more suitable to form a coalition.

In this case, President Reuven Rivlin is expected to choose the candidate that has the highest chance to form a coalition. After yesterdays results that task would be given to current Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

With 97% percent of the votes accounted for both Benjamin Netanyahu’s Likud party and Benny Gantz’s Blue and White party received 35 seats apiece. However, the only other parties that have the power to provide enough seats for a ruling majority are the right-wing parties, which this year are mostly made up of the religious parties.

Here how the results of yesterday’s election with 97% votes accounted for

Likud – 35 (29.2%)

Blue and White – 35 (29.2%)

Shas 8 – (6.7%)

United Torah Judaism – 8 (6.7%)

Hadash – Ta’al – 6 (5%)

Israeli Labor Party – 6 (5%)

United Right – 5 (4.2%)

Yisrael Beiteinu – 5 (4.2%)

Kulanu – 4 (3.3%)

Meretz – 4  (3.3%)

Ra’am – Balad – 4 (3.3%)

Gesher – 0

Magen – 0

New Right – 0

Zehut – 0

Other parties – 0

By the numbers, the right-wing parties together make up 65 seats, and the left-wing/Arab parties together make up 55 seats